A Trip to New York

As the bus picked speed, I could see the red brick buildings rushing past me, a whirl of red in a sea of white snow. Each building seemed to stand tall in all its majesty. These quaint, white-capped houses were telling me that their cozy spaces can match up to any 101 floor building that I might glimpse in NY. Soon, the mall, bank and food outlets gave way to the highway and we were racing to New York! The afternoon sun cast a yellow-orange glow; I was exhilarated, in spite of the sparse 2 hours of sleep I got the night before. The lecture from my relativity class that morning, and the notes from the orientation society meeting were still swirling in my head like white wisps of smoke. I think they were undergoing a chemical reaction – the knowledge of physics transformed into ideas related to investment banking and the orientation arrangements into the organization of my future answers during the interview for a position in Information Technology. Now when I think about it, it was ironic that I was not carrying my laptop; I reasoned that the distance would help articulate my passion for technology, just like thirst helps appreciate the taste of water.

I admit that at the ticket station, I was thankful that only the machines could see my nervousness – for one thing, there were something like 7 options at every stage of buying the ticket, not to mention that the station looked deserted and I had never traveled alone on a subway. Real life, as it turns out, is much kinder than I visualized in my head. My journey went smoothly and before I knew it, I was lifting my eyes to assorted glassy buildings reaching into the clouds, bordering the Wall Street. Each one seemed to announce an intention, their majestic presence rooting for the power in numbers. Walking amidst these giant structures, I strangely did not feel intimidated. Perhaps, it was the visual appreciation of the reflective surfaces, the play of light caused due to different angles in the architecture that took away the weight of its enormity. Perhaps, it was the thrill of being more than a mere spectator, of being invited into one of these buildings.

Lady luck was with me, and I needed her. The express bus that could have taken up to 45 minutes arrived within 5 minutes of my reaching the stop. A kind lady sold me a metro ticket and even had the right change when I needed to pay her. As I got off at my bus stop (whose name took awhile to learn), the bus driver kindly honked and let me know I was walking in the wrong direction. The weather was exceptionally good for the middle of New York winter – the wind in my face at 44 F felt amazing. My friend’s mother (whom I call ‘aunty’) gave me a warm welcome along with some delicious ziti with marinara sauce. After a lively discussion about the program and my interview, we retired to bed. I slept a blissful 8 hours, and wake up a few minutes before my alarm. By another stroke of luck I discovered a toothbrush that I had kept in my back some time ago – shiny teeth never hurt your chances in an interview. Fortunately, Aunty’s brothers who live/have lived downtown could help me research the New York transport system. I was ready to fly across Manhattan!

My interview lasted long, or so it seemed. Then again, it seemed like a terribly short time to say all that I had prepared. Ultimately, I think that it is not the quantity but quality that matters, not the numbers themselves, but the value they hold, and their relationships to each other that makes them significant. I managed to feel good, and I managed not to feel better than I should. The details of the interview will follow later when they are not as vivid as they are now, when I have gained enough distance in time.

6 thoughts on “A Trip to New York

  1. Uh huh.

    Wait, why all the superfluous semi-spiritual stuff? I don’t think that’s actually how you think, now is it? So why the superficiality, there’s one thing to find meaning in something, and quite another to present it as if you’ve found it. It’s like the difference between knowing the name of something and actually knowing something. I know that you’re not like that so I ask again why the superficiality?

  2. I am sure you have heard the saying ‘All that shines is not gold.” It is also true that if an element shines like gold, it could very well be gold.

  3. Then again how can the observer judge if the object in question is gold or not? How do you safeguard against a scam? How can you put a value on heresay? In a world of lies how can you know the truth without empirical proof?

    I am not saying that this applies here, or anything like that. Rather it’s an hoest question

  4. Your question is not one that can be answered in one comment. It probably cannot be answered if one combines all the books ever written. Therefore, I pose a different question, hoping to bring a new perspective. Is there an absolute truth? Can the grand affairs relating to humans be defined by one or two binary values?

    Personally, I find it more useful to sense my feelings about something in addition to analyzing logically. When you get better at it, you can know when the feelings themselves are reliable, and when they must be given more time and attention, from others and from self to mature.

  5. I think that there is a thing called the absolute truth, but there are different versions to it each pertaining to the circumstances in which the data is gathered.

    Now you might say that the truth so gleaned is not absolute, but I think that the real world is a random place and we have to accommodate for all the known and unknown variables. So essentially there is no one absolute truth rather what I like to call degrees of reality. Each one more objective, and precise than the last.

    This also means that whatever your perspective is no matter how lofty it is you can always use a change in perspective. You know in the computer industry we’ve had lots of great quotes over the years and I found one which sorta describes what I am talking about Alan Kay once said; “A change in perspective is worth 80 IQ points”.

    I have one such possible change for you.

    I want you to understand that at the end of the day, it’s all a game, and remember that you’re just another pawn in someone’s game. You either make a strategy or become a part of someone’s strategy. Everything you do plays into this simple fact of life. How you analyze the world governs whom you serve. Now you might think that I am crazy, but think about it. Isn’t your free will violated everyday in ways you can’t comprehend, you can try to run from it. I tried to do so, but really there’s no escape. You can merely choose which violations you can allow, and which you can’t that’s all. Just choose the version of the truth which is comfortable for you, because at the end of the day they’re really all the same aren’t they? Electo-chemical impulses in just another organisms head?

    I am sorry for my random disorganized thoughts.

Leave a Reply

